The Importance of Being Patient

I’m not always the most patient person, and if I’m forced to wait too long for something I tend to get fidgety and frustrated. Today I learned just how important it is to take the time to step back and wait. I’m not talking about the kind of waiting we learned about in EDPSY 14 that’s necessary after you ask a question to allow the students time to think of an answer; I’m talking about sometimes sitting back and letting students start working on their own time. After reading the Corbett and Wilson article about good teaching that advocated for strict teachers, I went into my placement with the mindset of encouraging the students who were slacking off to do their work. However, my observations on Monday showed me that sometimes it is better to wait than to constantly be on the backs of students not working.

During class students often filter in whenever they feel like it, which was a hard phenomenon for me to adjust to because in my schools tardiness was dealt with severely. Furthermore, throughout the period most of them are usually talking or using their cell phones while their work is pushed off to the side. I would watch them and try to decide whether I should go over and tell them to start writing their essays, but as I waited for a few minutes the students slowly started to pull out their work on their own and started writing without any further prompting. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that what originally looked like students ignoring their work was really just their way of taking some time to “get ready” for the day and have a few moments to themselves. I don’t mean to say though that all the students only spent a few minutes doing what they wanted. Some probably only spent ten solid minutes doing any kind of work, and others would work for a little and then take breaks or keep talking, but what was important was that I had started to question why the students would come in every day and take so long to do their work. The more I examined this issue the more I was able to put myself in their shoes and see where they were coming from.  

They had been working on these papers for the past three weeks, and they were bored with the assignment and were tired of writing. Some of them just needed a mental break. As I began to think about my own writing process, I realized that oftentimes it takes me a few minutes to get started on a paper or I just won’t feel like doing it at all, and I like English! Writing is one of those tasks that everyone approaches differently, and watching these kids struggle with their writing process reminded me of how I too struggle with writing at times. At one of our small group PSU sessions Dr. Staples told us how crucial it is as a teacher to see yourself in others, and on Monday I saw firsthand how that is true. Once I started to imagine what the students’ attitudes towards writing their biography essays were, and how I would feel if I was working on the same assignment, I began to see their behavior in a different light.

Every day and every period in my placement high school is different, but the behaviors I observe can be seen in every class. From my observations I have learned that the art of waiting is a practice that gets better with time and experience. The hard part of waiting is knowing when a student’s “mental break” turns into ignoring their work, and when it’s time for you to get involved and when it’s time for you to sit back and let the situation work itself out. I’ve noticed that a lot of the students hate it when you’re “all up in their face,” and I know that it’s just the nature of teenagers in general to feel annoyed when adults are constantly telling them what to do and watching and waiting for them to do it. At the same time though, as a teacher it is my responsibility to make sure my students are learning. As I finish up this practicum experience and when I start student teaching I hope I will get more comfortable with knowing when it is time to encourage the students to do their work and when it is time to give them room and allow them to start working when they’re ready.

3 Responses to The Importance of Being Patient

  1. jaimekatz says:

    Alex!
    I completely relate to your article. Reading what you said about writing made me think about how I would feel if I was forced to write the same paper for three weeks straight–I honestly think I would go insane. i would probably be that kid running around the room getting phone calls home to mom! And especially because I actually like writing, but like you said, only when I’m in the writing mood. Otherwise I just dread it. So seeing how these kids need a mental break sounds pretty accurate to me. I never really thought of it that way; that sometime the wasted time in the beginning is sort of a time to gather your thoughts, get the talking out of your system and just breathe for a moment. I’m sure in my classroom we waste about 10 minutes at the start of every period and i always wonder to myself why can’t these kids just get it together already? But after reading your article it’s helped me see it in a new almost useful way! I think knowing this, (especially your comments about how boring a three week paper can be) with you being an English Education major will help reduce sooooooo much stress and frustration and will enable you to keep your students interested.

  2. Alex H. says:

    Thanks so much Jamie! I’m glad to hear that other practicum sites have similar situations.

  3. Emily C says:

    This shined a new light on what it means to be patient as an educator. I have learned that I am maybe sometimes to quick to remind students of what they should be doing. When students are working independently I circulate throughout the room answering questions and reminding them to get on track and do their work. Don’t get me wrong I do not just tell them to do their work, I sit and discuss with them what it is they should be doing and when they feed me excuses, such as ” I don’t know what to write about.,” I ask them questions to find their intrests and get their ideas flowing. But now that I think about it I may be to quick to remind them of what they should be doing. This is a kind of patience that I think will take me a lot of time and practice to develop because I am someone who does not like to waste time and get my work done right away. Thank you for pointing this out, now I will be more concious of myself when I am pestering students about their work.

Leave a comment